Farm in Mazandaran, Iran

Imperium Caviar

Our Approach & Savoir-Faire

Thanks to the family roots in northern Iran on the shores of the Caspian Sea – the caviar’s original provenance – caviar expertise flows in our blood. Decades of production and export know-how made our decision to found the company in Zurich easy.

Science, tradition, innovation, modern technologies and processes while pioneering social, economic and ecological sustainability as well as species conservation and environmental protection: we combine all these aspects in our company in Iran and in Switzerland. We have established in-house, state-controlled laboratories where scientific researchers from the University of Marine Biology study the behaviour, growth and health of sturgeon fish in both saltwater and fresh river water. Gained insights lead directly to new process flows and practices of our employees.

Our farm in Iran is HACCP certified and uses ISO certified fish feed. No growth hormones or other artificial additives are used. Our caviar is not pasteurised and is triple-checked: at harvesting and selection, and before packing into the original tins for export. Then, as a registered caviar packer in Switzerland, we control each tin again before selling our caviar. Since we acquired a stake in this farm, we can vouch for the quality with our own name. At the same time, we managed to save and generate jobs in Iran.

As a company based in Switzerland, we know about the high demands of our clientele – both upscale award-winning gastronomy and discerning private customers. However, as a company with roots in Iran, we also know about the origin’s regional terroir and tradition. It is our approach to unite both worlds. We consciously keep the traditional knowledge of previous generations of caviar producers in our company alive. Iranian caviar masters with long-standing expertise are employed as consultants. They constantly monitor the processes and actively work on the ever-improving interplay between modernity and tradition. The sturgeon and its caviar are always the focus of attention and are treated with the greatest respect. For we know nature’s value and its transience.

 

Blog-Highlights:

History of Caviar

Caviar’s history is closely tied to the history of sturgeon fish. Caviar is roe preserved in salt from the female...

Learn more →

How to Serve Caviar

How should caviar best be offered to guests? Are there any rules or traditions to respect? What quantities...

Learn more →

Health Benefits of Caviar

Have you ever thought of caviar in terms of its inner values? Caviar is regarded as one of the healthiest...

Learn more →

Add address

Farm in Mazandaran, Iran

Imperium Caviar

Unser Ansatz & Savoir-faire

Dank der familiären Verankerung im Norden Irans am Rande des Kaspischen Meeres, der ursprünglichen Herkunftsregion von Kaviar, fliesst die Kaviarexpertise in unserem Blut. Jahrzehntelanges Fachwissen in Produktion und Export von Kaviar haben uns die Entscheidung zur Unternehmensgründung in Zürich abgenommen.

Wissenschaftlichkeit, Tradition, Innovation, moderne Technologien und Verfahren mit gleichzeitiger Vorreiterrolle in Sachen sozialer, wirtschaftlicher und ökologischer Nachhaltigkeit sowie Arten- und Umweltschutz: all diese Aspekte verbinden wir in unserem Unternehmen in Iran und in der Schweiz. Wir haben hauseigene, staatlich kontrollierte Laboratorien installiert, in denen wissenschaftliche Forscher der Universität in Meeresbiologie das Verhalten, Wachstum und die Gesundheit der Störfische sowohl im Salzwasser als auch im Frischwasser der Flüsse untersuchen. Die gewonnenen Erkenntnisse fliessen direkt in neue Prozessabläufe und Verhaltensweisen unserer Mitarbeiter.

Unsere Zuchtfarm in Iran ist HACCP-zertifiziert und verwendet ISO-zertifiziertes Fischfutter. Es werden weder Wachstumshormone noch andere künstliche Hilfsmittel eingesetzt. Unser Kaviar ist nicht pasteurisiert und wird dreifach kontrolliert: Bei der Entnahme und Selektion sowie vor dem Abpacken in die Originaldosen für den Export. Anschliessend überprüfen wir in der Schweiz als registrierter Kaviarumpacker jede Dose nochmals, bevor wir unseren Kaviar in den Verkauf geben. Da wir uns in diese Zuchtfarm eingekauft haben, können wir mit unserem eigenen Namen für die Qualität einstehen. Gleichzeitig konnten wir so Arbeitsplätze in Iran retten und generieren.

Als in der Schweiz sesshaftes Unternehmen wissen wir um die hohen Ansprüche unserer Kundschaft – sowohl gehobene Sternegastronomie als auch anspruchsvolle Privatkunden. Als in Iran verankertes Unternehmen wissen wir jedoch auch um das Terroir und die Tradition der Ursprungsregion. Es ist unser Ansatz, beide Welten zu vereinen. Das traditionelle Wissen der früheren Generationen von Kaviarproduzenten erhalten wir in unserer Firma bewusst lebendig. Iranische Kaviarmeister mit langjähriger Expertise sind als Berater angestellt. Sie überwachen laufend die Prozesse und arbeiten aktiv am konstant verbesserten Zusammenspiel zwischen Moderne und Tradition mit. Der Stör und sein Kaviar stehen dabei im Mittelpunkt und werden mit grösstem Respekt behandelt. Denn wir wissen um den Wert der Natur und ihrer Vergänglichkeit.

 

Blog-Highlights:

Geschichte des Kaviars

Die Geschichte von Kaviar steht im engen Zusammenhang mit derjenigen vom Störfisch. Kaviar ist in …

Weiterlesen →

Kaviar servieren

Wie gilt es, Kaviar seinen Gästen anzubieten? Gibt es hierzu bestimmte Regeln oder Traditionen zu …

Weiterlesen →

Gesundheitliche Vorteile von Kaviar

Haben Sie bei Kaviar jemals an seine inneren Werte gedacht? Kaviar gilt als eines der …

Weiterlesen →

Add address